Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Aftermath ~ Book Review

Book Review - Aftermath

Growing in Grace Through Grief

Loss is a four-letter word that grips our hearts and gridlocks our lives. Grief can hold us captive until we surrender it to God. How do we find the necessary grace to journey through the mourning process?

Juxtaposed to the outpouring of her mother’s words about grief, the author shares her parallel journey from the emotional abyss of grief after becoming an adult orphan. With candor, the author shares her own emotions experienced along the spectrum of loss after her parents’ deaths: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—adding interactive options for readers.

Five sections cover these common emotions and provide:

• comfort Scripture lists

• counsel sections from grief experts

• chronicling sections with detailed helps

• tangible handles on dealing with grief during holidays, capturing loved ones’ legacy, and more

Margaret McSweeney is a well-published author often writing online articles for Make It Better (the former North Shore Magazine) and freelance articles for the Daily Herald, the largest suburban Chicago newspaper. In addition, she has authored and compiled several books including A Mother’s Heart Knows; Go Back and Be Happy; Pearl Girls: Encountering Grit, Experiencing Grace and most recently, Mother of Pearl.

Margaret has a master’s degree from the University of South Carolina in international business. As is the founder of Pearl Girls, Margaret collaborates with other writers on projects to help fund a safe house for WINGS, an organization that helps women and their children who are victims of domestic violence, and to build wells for schoolchildren in Uganda through Hands of Hope. For the past 10 years she has served on the board of directors and leadership advisory board for WINGS. Margaret lives with her husband and 2 daughters in the Chicago suburbs. Learn more about Margaret and the work of Pearl Girls at www.margaretmcsweeney.com.

The author of the book shares her story of her lose in her life, She puts poems in the book that were written by her mother, Carolyn Rhea. The Mother also wrote a book called "When Grief is your Constant Companion.
The author tells about the different stages of grief and says things about them that will help you as you move over them. Also, in the end of each chapter there are questions to help you evaluate how you are feeling about your grief. There is also an area for you to write a letter to God, telling him how you feel.

The whole book was wonderful and if would be perfect as a gift to a friend who is in grief of someone who passed.

*This book was provided to me for my honest review by LitFuse Publicity Group

You can purchase the book HERE

You can read other review of this book HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment