Saturday, March 24, 2012

Then Sings My Soul Book Review

Then Sings My Soul, Book 3 is the third book in a trilogy about hymns. The author, Robert Morgan, takes us on a historical journey of the church and how hymns have changed over the years. The book covers these various segments:
  • Biblical Hymns
  • Medieval Hymns
  • English Hymns
  • Ancient Hymns
  • German Hymns
  • Gospel Songs
  • Contemporary Praise

I Can't sing, nor play all of the song in this book, but I sure did enjoy reading about each of the hymns. The Author tell us about each hymn: it tells us who the author is and about the author, it also tells why the song was writting. I thought this was very interesting. I love learning about things like this. If only in my classes did I learn about facts like these. 

The author wrote about several hymns I already knew, but  there were as well many, many, many more I had never heard of. I enjoyed reading about the hymns I did not know, but I also liked reading about the songs I did know. 

I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in hymnology, or in using hymns as a part of their daily devotions.

I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review; the opinions expressed are my own.

1 comment: